Bloodstained: Ritual of the Night Director on 2 Additional Playable Characters, 10 Game Modes & More!

Director Koji Igarashi had sat down with NVIDIA GeForce during E3 2018, giving them an update on the new features in Bloodstained: Ritual of the Night.

In Bloodstained, the protagonist Miriam can be stabbed by a shard, granting her abilities. These shards were originally demons that was transformed into crystals when they died. The people called Shard Binders who are embedded with the crystals and cursed by them. They can absorb the abilities from the crystalized demons and use those abilities as their own.

There are 2 types of combat style. Players can use a variety of weapons to find a fighting style that suited the player. The second type is absorbing and using the shard abilities to attack and move. There are parts in the game where it is only accessible via shard ability mobility.

Igarashi mentioned that there will be 2 additional playable characters in Bloodstained. It was first promised in the Kickstarter campaign.

Bloodstained will feature 10 different game modes. Igarashi listed only a couple of the game modes in the interview:

  • Main game mode
  • Rogue-lite mode where the maps are procedurally generated
  • Local co-op mode
  • An online co-op mode
  • Boss rush mode that players can fight bosses one after another
  • Boss revenge mode where players play as the boss in a fight against Miriam

Bloodstained: Ritual of the Night is launching in 2018 to PlayStation 4, Xbox One, PlayStation Vita, Nintendo Switch and PC. The spin-off mini game, Bloodstained: Curse of the Moon, is now available on PlayStation 4, PlayStation Vita, Nintendo Switch, Nintendo 3DS, and PC.

Leave a Reply